Brand and information design for Munich

Stadtwerke München GmbH

With pride we can say: one of our most sustainable jobs with 15 years running time.

Challenge

The opening of the EU market opened up a new challenge for regional and local transport companies from 2002 onwards. Now it was time to become visible. For the Munich, there was until now only the MVV, an alliance of all transport providers combined – even possible competitors of MVG. At that time, Munich municipal utilities commissioned Fuenfwerken to accompany the development of MVG’s brand appearance.

Idea and Implementation

We have designed a modular corporate design consisting of a figurative mark and our own font and information design. The Vialog as the pictograms for all product brands – U- and S-Bahn, tram, bus, etc. – are still today the central design element of the public transport. The management of the design elements in the then specially set up online brand management system still allows the design to be further developed, even with changes in content, without major style breaks. A timeless and modern system that helps the MVG to easily update passenger information such as brand.

In a city like Munich, non-residents must find their way and their means of transport. Therefore, many design details were based on supraregional standards.

Project Success

15 years ago, MVG’s development was our first business design project, the first with this great scope of services and the first in mobility. Since we are also allowed to set up the Fahrinfo app and in future the Mobile Services “Passenger Information 2.0” together with MVG in 2013 – and the Nachteule in Munich is still winking – this project is a special proof for us of a sustainable, trusting way of working.

en

Marken- und Informationsdesign für München

Stadtwerke München GmbH

Mit Stolz können wir sagen: mit 15 Jahren Laufzeit einer unserer nachhaltigsten Jobs.

Herausforderung

Durch die Marktöffnung der EU standen die regionalen und kommunalen Verkehrsbetriebe ab 2002 vor einer neuen Herausforderung. Jetzt hieß es: sichtbar werden. Für die Münchner gab es bis dato nur den MVV, ein Verbund der alle Verkehrsanbieter unter sich vereinte – auch mögliche Konkurrenten der MVG.
Die Münchner Stadtwerke beauftragten Fuenfwerken damals, die Entwicklung des Markenerscheinungsbilds der MVG zu begleiten.

Idee und Umsetzung

Wir haben ein modulares Corporate Design entworfen, bestehend aus Bildmarke und eigenem Schrift- wie Informationsdesign. Die Vialog wie die Piktogramme für alle Produktmarken – U- und S-Bahn, Tram, Bus, etc. – sind auch heute noch das zentrale Designelement der Verkehrsbetriebe. Die Verwaltung der Gestaltungselemente in dem damals eigens aufgesetzten Online Brand Management System ermöglicht nach wie vor, dass das Design auch bei Veränderungen der Inhalte immer wieder ohne größere Stilbrüche weiterentwickelt wird. Ein zeitloses und modernes System, das der MVG hilft, Fahrgastinformationen wie Marke einfach zu aktualisieren.

In einer Stadt wie München müssen vor allem auch Ortsfremde ihren Weg und ihr Verkehrsmittel finden. Deshalb orientierten sich viele Gestaltungsdetails an überregionalen Standards.

Projekterfolg

Vor 15 Jahren war die Entwicklung der MVG unser erstes Business-Design-Projekt, das erste mit diesem großen Leistungsumfang und das erste Projekt im Bereich Mobilität. Da wir außerdem 2013 gemeinsam mit der MVG die Fahrinfo-App und zukünftig die Mobile Services „Fahrgastinformationen 2.0“ aufbauen dürfen – und die Nachteule in München immer noch zwinkert – ist dieses Projekt für uns ein besonderer Beweis für eine nachhaltige, vertrauensvolle Arbeitsweise.