Europe’s largest sparkling wine producer strikes a balance between tradition and innovation

Rotkäppchen-Mumm

 

26 product brands, 870 employees
and 7 locations –
unified under a new brand.

An umbrella brand is more than the sum of its parts. It indicates the roots, the present and the future of the entire corporation, thus boasting a particular timelessness. We came up with a face that allows this complex identity to become visible, from the inside outwards.

 

A symbol steeped in history

In 1856 two brothers, Moritz and Julius Kloss, laid the foundations of Rotkäppchen-Mumm, when, together with their friend Carl Foerster, they established a wine store, “Kloss & Foerster” in Freyburg. And since time immemorial, a modified version of the logo of a “winged bottle” has been decorating the labels of Rotkäppchen Sekt.

 

 

 

What’s next?

 

 

 

 

At the time it was usually only the upper classes who were in a position to afford this excellent sparkling wine. Times have changed – nowadays Rotkäppchen-Mumm products stand for:

 

The kind of pleasure

many can afford.

The new corporate design aims at expressing this brand essence.

 

From idea to implementation

Intense enjoyment and an affordable price are by no means mutually exclusive, and the same applies to tradition and innovation – something that Rotkäppchen Sekt demonstrates impressively. It was our objective to communicate this balancing act – and without resorting to rhetorical devices.

The redefined corporate typefaces conform to this objective – a clear, modern script font is accentuated by a display font with a strong character, one with a nod to classicism. At the same time, we bring out the umbrella brand’s visual identity, highlighting its different elements.

#
#
#
#

When developing the figurative mark, we consciously rejected regal opulence so as to stress the grounded quality of this modern company. During the process, the logo of the “winged bottle” was developed further, before being dynamically transferred to a layout grid for all kinds of different uses.

 

The corporate colors: gold, vanilla, grape, oak

To date there has not been an independent image portfolio for Rotkäppchen-Mumm. Until now, the pool of images for the individual consumer brands have been used. Although this is an indication of the diversity of the Rotkäppchen-Mumm brand, it has often resulted in piecemeal work. For the Rotkäppchen-Mumm umbrella brand we therefore came up with an entirely new image portfolio, one which is completely in line with the CI, focuses on those special moments – and is authentic, approachable and highlights the human aspect.

 

Making of

I am looking forward to your questions.

Please contact Friederike Seidel in Wiesbaden with regard to this project.

Write an email

en

Europas größter Sektproduzent zwischen Tradition und Innovation

Rotkäppchen-Mumm

 

26 Produktmarken, 870 Mitarbeiter
und 7 Standorte –
vereint unter einer neuen Marke.

Eine Dachmarke ist mehr als die Summe ihrer Teile. Sie verweist auf die Herkunft, Gegenwart und Zukunft des gesamten Unternehmens und ist damit von besonderer Zeitlosigkeit. Wir schufen ein Gesicht, das diese komplexe Identität von innen nach außen hin sichtbar werden lässt.

Ein geschichtsträchtiges Zeichen

1856 legten die Brüder Moritz und Julius Kloss den Grundstein für Rotkäppchen-Mumm, als sie gemeinsam mit Freund Carl Foerster die Weinhandlung „Kloss & Foerster“ in Freyburg gründeten. Seit jeher ziert auch das Signet einer „geflügelten Flasche“  in abgewandelter Form die Etiketten von Rotkäppchen Sekt.

 

 

Wie geht es weiter?

 

 

 

 

Damals war der Genuss edler Tropfen meist nur der oberen Bevölkerungsschicht vorbehalten. Das hat sich gewandelt: Heute stehen die Produkte von Rotkäppchen-Mumm für: 

Genuss, der für viele

erreichbar ist.

Diesen Markenkern sollte das neue Corporate Design widerspiegeln.

Von der Idee zur Umsetzung

Hochgenuss und ein erschwinglicher Preis schließen einander ebenso wenig aus wie Tradition und Innovation — das beweist Rotkäppchen Sekt eindrucksvoll. Diesen Spagat wollten wir kommunizieren, ohne dabei ins phrasenhafte Zitieren zu verfallen.

Diesem Anspruch werden die neu definierten Unternehmensschriften gerecht: Eine klare, moderne Fließtextschrift wird von einer charakterstarken und auf den Klassizismus verweisende Auszeichnungsschrift akzentuiert. Gleichzeitig arbeiteten wir die visuelle Identität der Dachmarke im Hinblick auf die unterschiedlichen Gewerke heraus.

#
#
#
#

Bei der Weiterentwicklung der Wort- und Bildmarke verzichteten wir bewusst auf royale Opulenz, um die Bodenständigkeit des modernen Unternehmens zu unterstreichen. Das Signet der „geflügelten Flasche“ wurde im Zuge dessen weiter ausgearbeitet und dynamisch in ein Gestaltungsraster für die verschiedensten Anwendungen übertragen.

Die Hausfarben: Gold, Vanille, Traube, Eiche

Eine eigenständige Bildwelt gab es für Rotkäppchen-Mumm bisher nicht. Man bediente sich aus dem visuellen Fundus der einzelnen Consumer Brands. Das zeigte zwar die Vielfalt der Marke Rotkäppchen-Mumm auf, mündete aber oft in Stückwerk. Wir haben für die Dachmarke von Rotkäppchen-Mumm deshalb eine gänzlich neu Bildwelt konzipiert, die ganz im Sinne der CI besondere Momente zeigt – und zwar authentisch, menschlich und nahbar.

Making of

Fragen? Ich freu mich drauf!

Ansprechpartner für dieses Projekt ist Friederike Seidel in Wiesbaden.

Email schreiben