de

Driving an integrative product idea

Reframd

Driving an integrative product idea

Glasses for black people

As a designer – or rather as an empathic person – you are trained and thus also affinity to see connections or to recognize problems. In this case, product designer Ackeem Ngwenya (founder of Reframd) recognized it. He studied in South Africa at the Stellenbosch University Jewelry Design / Philosophy and in London at the Royal College of Art and at the European Institute of Innovation and Technology (EIT) and specializes in product and service development using generative designs, digital manufacturing, and prototyping.

Like us, he believes that design has the power to shape society in all aspects of our daily life – regardless of whether it is inclusive or not. In most cases, apparently rash decisions have unintended consequences, making some people worse off than others. In the case of Ackeem Ngwenya, it was the realization that glasses, in general, are not designed to fit the nose types of black people. Ultimately, this means that millions of people all over the world wear products that are not made for them.

Ackeem Ngwenya turned to us to develop a successful business from his knowledge and idea.

The 5W approach

The first in the aim of our partnership and advice was to provide him with clarity in the product and business model. With our holistic approach – 5 designerly WAYZ – we learned together and opened up possible fields. How customizable is the product? How big is the product range? Visual aids or just sunglasses – or both? Do you need other differentiating and recognizable accents in addition to the special ergonomics?

With qualitative interviews and desktop research, the first step was to discover to what extent black people are open to a product “for black people” without using clichés of stigmatization in order to avoid senseless product ideas such as “computers for women” or supposed ideas of “ young products ”.

Which customer segments are addressed – with which promise? In which markets do you start and through which channels? How does Reframd want to be with its customers? Star or best friend? Product or movement? Where and how are the sales generated? Does a franchise system make sense? Which resources can be used internally and which partnerships would be desirable? How far is the offer scalable? Which trends and social developments, which technologies are already recognizable that are relevant for the company?

Together with Reframd, we developed step-by-step iterative steps, scenarios of the strategic fields of action, and a suitable brand story to enable Reframd to drive product development in a targeted manner, to develop strategic alliances, to acquire venture capital to enable market entry. It is important for us to enable the young company to write the history of its future and develop the business on the jointly developed toolbox.

Glasses with a low and wide bridge

Reframd is a company that focuses on the design and manufacture of eyewear products that confidently match a variety of black nose types; because what we wear affects how we feel and how others perceive us, and how we feel affects our ability to influence the world around us. Reframd develops new standards for the design of eyeglass frames – so that they fit the lower nose profiles of its customers, which in turn improves the comfort and access of its customers to style and size options. Reframd wants to increase the value of its customers through products specially developed for them.

REFRAMD
an Afropolitan Eyewear Brand

#
#
#
#
#

Young, urban, and culturally-savvy generations of Africans and people of African descent with a global perspective can be found in major cities from London, Paris, New York, Berlin, and Lagos to Johannesburg. Afropolitans have a passion for style and self-expression. They want to be represented in the products they buy and support independent brands that represent them on a global level.

The magic comes together through the innovative technological agreement of parametric design and additive manufacturing. Reframd’s products exist as adaptable chunks of information until the time of purchase, which gives the company the flexibility to respond more quickly to requirements and changes in fashion trends.
reframd.com

Our services

_Trend Scouting
_Scoping
_Mentoring
_Business Design
_Brand Strategy
_Brand Story
_UX Design

I am looking forward to your questions.

Please contact Rolf Mehnert in Wiesbaden with regard to this project.

Write an email

en

Eine integrative Produktidee vorantreiben

Reframd

Eine integrative Produktidee vorantreiben

Brillen für schwarze Menschen

Als Designer – oder besser gesagt als empatischer Mensch – ist man geübt und dadurch auch affin, Zusammenhänge zu sehen oder Problematiken zu erkennen. In diesem Fall hat es der Produktdesigner Ackeem Ngwenya (Gründer von Reframd) erkannt. Er hat in Südafrika an der Stellenbosch University Jewelry Design/Philosophy und in London am Royal Collage of Art und am European Institute of Innovation and Technology (EIT) studiert und ist spezialisiert auf Produkt- und Serviceentwicklung mithilfe generativen Designs, digitaler Fertigung und Prototypings.

Wie wir ist er der Meinung, dass Design in allen Aspekten unseres täglichen Lebens die Kraft hat, Gesellschaft zu gestalten – egal ob sie inklusiv ist oder nicht. In den meisten Fällen haben aber scheinbar unbedachte Entscheidungen unbeabsichtigte Folgen, sodass manche Menschen schlechter dran sind als andere. Im Fall von Ackeem Ngwenya war es die Erkenntnis, dass Brillen im Allgemeinen nicht so gestaltet sind, dass sie auf Nasentypen von schwarzen Menschen passen. Letztendlich bedeutet dies, dass Millionen von Menschen überall in der Welt Produkte tragen, die nicht für sie gemacht sind.

Ackeem Ngwenya hat sich an uns gewandt, um aus seiner Erkenntnis und Idee ein erfolgreiches Business zu entwickeln.

Der 5W-Ansatz

Ziel unserer Partnerschaft und Beratung war es, ihm im ersten Schritt Klarheit im Produkt- und Business-Modell zu schaffen. Mit unserem ganzheitlichen Ansatz – 5 designerly WAYZ – haben wir zusammen gelernt und Möglichkeitsfelder eröffnet. Wie weit individualisierbar ist das Produkt? Wie groß ist das Produktangebot? Sehhilfen oder nur Sonnenbrillen – oder beides? Braucht es weitere differenzierende und wiedererkennbare Akzente neben der besonderen Ergonomie?

Mit qualitativen Interviews und Desktop Research galt es in einem ersten Schritt zu entdecken, inwieweit schwarze Menschen einem Produkt „für schwarze Menschen“ gegenüber offen sind, ohne Klischees von Stigmatisierung heranzuziehen, um von sinnlosen Produktideen wie „Computer für Frauen“ oder vermeintlichen Ideen von „jungen Produkten“ zu lernen.

Welche Kundensegmente werden angesprochen – mit welchem Versprechen? In welchen Märkten wird gestartet und über welche Kanäle? In welcher Beziehung will Reframd mit seinen Kunden stehen? Star oder Best Friend? Produkt oder Bewegung? Wo und wie werden die Umsätze generiert? Ist ein Franchise-System sinnvoll? Auf welche Ressourcen kann man intern zurückgreifen und welche Partnerschaften wären erstrebenswert? Wie weit ist das Angebot skalierbar? Welche Trends und gesellschaftlichen Entwicklungen, welche Technologien sind bereits erkennbar, die für das Unternehmen relevant sind?

Zusammen mit Reframd entwickelten wir Step-by-Step in iterativen Schritten Szenarios der strategischen Handlungsfelder und eine passende Brandstory, um Reframd zu ermöglichen, zielgerichtet die Produktentwicklung voranzutreiben, strategische Bündnisse zu erschließen, Venture Capital zu akquirieren, um den Markteintritt zu ermöglichen. Wichtig ist uns dabei, das junge Unternehmen dazu zu befähigen, auf der gemeinsam entwickelten Toolbox, selbst die Geschichte seiner Zukunft zu schreiben und das Business zu entwickeln.

Brillen mit niedrigem und breitem Steg

Reframd ist ein Unternehmen, das sich auf das Design und die Herstellung von Brillenprodukten konzentriert, die selbstbewusst zu einer Vielzahl von Nasentypen Schwarzer passen; denn was wir tragen, beeinflusst, wie wir uns fühlen und wie andere uns wahrnehmen, und wie wir uns fühlen, beeinflusst unsere Fähigkeit, die Welt um uns herum zu beeinflussen. Reframd entwickelt neue Standards für das Design von Brillenfassungen – damit sie zu den unteren Nasenprofilen seiner Kunden passen, was wiederum den Komfort und den Zugang seiner Kunden zu Stil- und Größenoptionen verbessert. Reframd will den Wert seiner Kunden durch speziell für sie entwickelte Produkte steigern.

REFRAMD
an Afropolitan Eyewear Brand

#
#
#
#
#

Junge, städtische und kulturell versierte Generationen von Afrikanern und Menschen afrikanischer Abstammung mit einer globalen Perspektive sind in Großstädten von London, Paris, New York, Berlin und Lagos bis Johannesburg zu finden. Afropolitaner haben eine Leidenschaft für Stil und Selbstausdruck. Sie wollen in den Produkten, die sie kaufen, vertreten sein und unterstützen unabhängige Marken, die sie auf globaler Ebene repräsentieren.

Die Magie kommt durch die innovative technologische Übereinstimmung von parametrischem Design und additiver Fertigung zusammen. Die Produkte von Reframd existieren als anpassungsfähige Informationsbrocken bis zum Zeitpunkt des Kaufs, was dem Unternehmen die Flexibilität gibt, schneller auf Anforderungen und Änderungen von Modetrends zu reagieren.
reframd.com

Unsere Services

_Trend Scouting
_Scoping
_Mentoring
_Business Design
_Brand Strategy
_Brand Story
_UX Design

Fragen? Ich freu mich drauf!

Ansprechpartner für dieses Projekt ist Rolf Mehnert in Wiesbaden.

Email schreiben