de

A reinvention of a mechanical industrial product

SABO

‚Design is about building on ideas, trying things out, comparing alternatives, exploring opportunities to finally select the best possible solution.‘

Bettina von Stamm, Professor at the London University

Design and business

SABO produces extremely robust lawnmowers. Workhorses that can not be broken and cost the money they are worth. And that was the challenge: a product that lasts forever and you have to work yourself – synonymous with limited growth opportunities and due to the lack of technical gimmicks not innovative.

SABO’s ambition was not to create semi-professional robot solutions that suggest the garden challenge can be solved by itself with a minimum of work but to develop a strategy that is honest, sustainable, and still future-oriented. The company has partnered with Fuenfwerke to help them find a way to do this.

The 5W approach

Remove the complexity from the uncertain

It is a big step to question yourself as a traditional company and to be open to disruptive solutions to think about the future. A team of designers, developers, UX/UI professionals has teamed up with management, marketing, sales, and finance from SABO and built empathy for the big picture as well as for details. We have accompanied SABO hands-on and structured, analyzing the market, identifying trends, characterizing competitors, exploring new technologies, business models, and stages of value creation in order to develop a deep understanding in all areas.

Create clarity to gain freedom

Develop scenarios

With a clear process and a practical set of tools, we have developed a variety of scenarios together with our project partner not only in theory but in a “tangible” and “visible” manner. The knowledge obtained beforehand could thus be tested directly in prototypical applications and unexpected fields of action discovered that were free from all previous constraints and intellectual restrictions and at the same time could be borne by all company-internal specialist skills.

Develop sustainable and authentic strategies

The result is a strategy that was able to express SABO’s ambition in all conciseness and brevity, defined market and customer potential, clarified sales channels, and, above all, significantly improved the quality of relationships with all stakeholders.

Products, services, and platforms have been developed which – combined with a clear attitude – will make the company and the SABO brand future-oriented and create experiences.

Since the theories were always translated directly into concrete solutions and the process was used to train creative self-confidence, we created the conditions for the company to be active and therefore able to act.

Design and business: Heaven or hell?

We started as an agency over 20 years ago. Motivated and attentive, we sat as exotics at the meeting table of a large pharmaceutical company. We were “the creative ones” – the colorful dogs who were supposed to “make things beautiful” that were decided. The discussions went round in circles, there were many problems that had to be “solved”. Nobody knew how, but nobody admitted that he didn’t know – couldn’t know at all. Few could predict how “the Internet” would develop, except perhaps theorists like Peter Kruse. It was clear to him as a scientist that non-linear systems cannot be predicted (butterfly effect) and that new challenges can be solved based on old data. But it was clear to him that there was definitely something that could be used: empathy!

Yes, and back then, in quiet desperation, we were asked. We didn’t have any solutions either, but suggestions, different ideas, saw “pictures” and stories. Could we guarantee that these ideas could help solve the problems? No! But we were pretty confident.

Not that we were absolutely right back then. We knew intuitively, however, that there is no one future, there are futures and we were firmly convinced that it was not about solving the “one future”, but that it was only important to consistently find one of the possible solutions to go – until you have learned again and then had to adapt further. Too much “could”, “would” and too much uncertainty for the time, and that was why it was quite interesting at the time what “the designers” had for opinions – but you really didn’t listen to them.

Today design is supposed to solve all problems and there is no economically oriented medium that does not praise the power of “design thinking”. This time again, design will not solve problems on its own – but only in co-creation with other experts, professions. With time and space. With a look into the past, into the current situation, and a look at possible futures. With a view and with a lot of empathy for people. And then you will certainly (possibly) – but, we are quite sure – find a solution. We have been able to make this experience over the last 20 years. You just have to start.

Our services

Future Thinking
Trend Scouting
Envisioning
Scoping
Venturing
Strategic Design
Business Design
Brand Strategy
Brand Story
Brand Design
Service Design

I am looking forward to your questions.

Please contact Jeremias Schmitt in Berlin with regard to this project.

Write an email

en

Neuerfindung eines mechanischen Industrieproduktes

SABO

‚Design is about building on ideas, trying things out, comparing alternatives, exploring opportunities to finally select the best possible solution.‘

Bettina von Stamm, Professor at the London University

Design und Business

SABO stellt äußerst robuste Rasenmäher her. Arbeitstiere, die eigentlich nicht kaputt zu bekommen sind und die das Geld kosten, was sie wert sind. Und darin bestand schon die Herausforderung: hält ewig und man muss selbst arbeiten – gleichbedeutend mit begrenzten Wachstumsmöglichkeiten und mangels technischer Spielereien nicht „innovativ“.

SABOS Ambition war es nicht, über den üblichen Weg mit halbprofessionellen Roboterlösungen zu suggerieren, dass die Herausforderung Garten mit einem Minimum an Arbeitsaufwand sich von selbst löst, sondern eine Strategie zu entwicklen die ehrlich, nachhaltig und trotzdem zukunftsorientiert ist. Das Unternehmen und hat sich mit Fuenfwerken zusammengetan, um ihm dabei zu helfen, einen Weg zu finden, dies zu erreichen.

5Ws Ansatz

Dem Ungewissen die Komplexität nehmen

Es ist ein großer Schritt, sich als traditionelles Unternehmen infrage zu stellen und auch gegenüber disruptiven Lösungen offen zu sein, um in die Zukunft zu denken. Ein Team von Designern, Developern, UX/UI-Professionals hat sich dazu mit Geschäftsführung, Marketing, Vertrieb und Finance von SABO zusammengetan und Empathie für das große Ganze wie auch zum Detail aufgebaut. Wir haben SABO dabei strukturiert und Hands-on begleitet, den Markt zu analysieren, Trends zu identifiziert Wettbewerber zu charakterisiert neue Technologien sowie Geschäftsmodelle und Wertschöpfungsstufen zu explorieren, um ein tiefes Verständnis in allen Bereichen aufzubauen.

Klarheit schaffen, um Freiheit zu gewinnen

Szenarios entwickeln

Mit einem klaren Prozess und praktikablen Set an Tools haben wir zusammen mit unserem Projektpartner nicht nur in der Theorie, sondern ganz „greifbar“ und „sichtbar“ verschiedenste Szenarios entwickelt. Die vorab erzielten Erkenntnisse konnten so direkt in prototypischen Anwendungen getestet und unerwartete Handlungsfelder entdeckt werden, die frei von allen bisherigen Zwängen und gedanklichen Restriktionen waren und gleichzeitig von allen unternehmensinternen Fachkompetenzen getragen werden konnten.

Nachhaltige und authentische Strategien entwickeln

Das Ergebnis ist eine Strategie, die die Ambition von SABO in aller Prägnanz und Kürze manifestieren konnte, Markt- und Kundenpotenziale definierte, Vertriebskanäle klärte und vor allem die Beziehungsqualität zu allen Stakeholdern deutlich verbesserte.

Es wurden Produkte, Services und Plattformen entwickelt, die – verbunden mit einer klaren Haltung – das Unternehmen und die Marke SABO zukunftsfähig gestalten Erlebnisse schaffen und Inspiration wecken wird.

Da die Theorien immer direkt in konkrete Lösungen umgesetzt wurden der Prozess genutzt wurde, um kreatives Selbstbewusstsein zu trainieren, schafften wir die Voraussetzungen dafür, dass das Unternehmen selbst aktiv sein kann und somit handlungsfähig ist.

Design und Business: Himmel oder Hölle?

Vor über 20 Jahren sind wir als Agentur gestartet. Motiviert und aufmerksam saßen wir als Exoten an dem Besprechungstisch eines großen Pharmaunternehmens. Wir waren „die Kreativen“ – die bunten Hunde, die die Dinge, die entschieden wurden „schön machen sollen“. Die Gespräche drehten sich im Kreis, es gab viele Probleme, die mussten „gelöst“ werden. Keiner wusste wie, aber keiner gab zu, dass er es nicht wusste – gar nicht wissen, konnte. Wenige konnten wissen wie sich „das Internet“ entwickeln würde, außer vielleicht Theoretiker wie Peter Kruse. Ihm als Wissenschaftler war klar, dass man nicht lineare Systeme nicht vorhersagen kann (Schmetterlingseffekt) und auf Basis von alten Daten, neue Herausforderungen löst. Ihm war aber klar, dass es durchaus was gab was man nutzen kann: Empathie!

Ja, und damals hat man in der leisen Verzweiflung dann doch auch mal uns gefragt. Wir hatten auch keine Lösungen, aber Vorschläge, unterschiedliche Ideen, sahen „Bilder“ und Geschichten. Konnten wir garantieren, dass diese Ideen zur Lösung der Probleme beitragen konnten? Nein! Aber wir waren recht zuversichtlich.

Nicht, dass wir damals schon absolut richtig lagen. Wir haben wir aber intuitiv gewusst, dass es nicht die eine Zukunft gibt, sondern Zukünfte und wir waren der festen Überzeugung, dass es nicht darum ging, die „eine Zukunft“ zu lösen, sondern dass es nur wichtig ist, eine der möglichen Lösungen konsequent zu gehen, – bis man wieder gelernt hat und daraufhin weiter anpassen musste. Zu viel „könnte“, „würde“ und zu viel Unsicherheit für die damalige Zeit, und deshalb fand man das damals ja schon ganz interessant, was „die Designer“ da für Meinungen haben – aber wirklich darauf gehört hat man nicht.

Heute soll Design alle Probleme lösen und es gibt kein wirtschaftlich orientiertes Medium, welches nicht die Kraft des „Design Thinkings“ preist. Auch diesmal wird es Design nicht alleine lösen – sondern nur in Co-Kreation mit anderen Fachleuten, Professionen. Mit Zeit und Raum. Mit dem Blick in die Vergangenheit, in die aktuelle Situation und dem Blick auf mögliche Zukünfte. Mit dem Blick und mit viel Empathie auf den Menschen. Und dann wird man bestimmt (möglicherweise) – doch, wir sind uns da ganz sicher – eine Lösung finden. Diese Erfahrung konnten wir in den letzten 20 Jahren machen. Man muss nur anfangen.

 

Unsere Services

Future Thinking
Trend Scouting
Envisioning
Scoping
Venturing
Strategic Design
Business Design
Brand Strategy
Brand Story
Brand Design
Service Design

Fragen? Ich freu mich drauf!

Ansprechpartner für dieses Projekt ist Jeremias Schmitt in Berlin.

Email schreiben