be Berlin – Corporate Design for the new Berlin

Berliner Senatskanzlei

Our corporate design for the capital has shaped Berlin’s image to this day – in the neighborhood next door as well as on the international stage

Challenge

Location marketing is an art in itself. Especially for a city that is as multi-layered, steeped in history, changeable, colorful and sometimes contradictory as the German capital. In 2007, the Berlin State Chancellery commissioned a large-scale image campaign. Under the motto “be Berlin”, the inhabitants of the capital were brought into the limelight with their idiosyncrasies. We asked ourselves: what could a suitable visual language look like?

Idea and Implementation

We developed the corporate design for the capital in transition. The letters “BMF Change” and the red dialogue frame with the arrows for the mutual speech direction symbolize the open, dialogue-ready city and its inhabitants. The new image was used in several phases worldwide: from the public participation platform through local poster campaigns to international events.

The key visual is a dialogue framework that, with its arrow pointing inwards and outwards, stands for an open, dialogue-ready city and its inhabitants.

Project Success

Our keyvisual and the new typeface shape the appearance of Berlin far beyond the campaign – often in the form of viral acquisitions. Granted, these adaptations are not always CD-compliant. But their distribution proves that the corporate design works. With an image measurement TNS Infratest showed that the perception of the city since 2007 has been significantly improved – both as a business location and with regard to the quality of life on site.

I am looking forward to your questions.

Please contact Johannes Cordes in Berlin with regard to this project.

Write an email

en

be Berlin – Corporate Design für das neue Berlin

Berliner Senatskanzlei

Unser Corporate Design für die Hauptstadt prägt das Erscheinungsbild Berlins bis heute – im Kiez nebenan genauso wie auf internationalem Parkett

Herausforderung

Standortmarketing ist eine Kunst für sich. Zumal für eine Stadt, die so vielschichtig, geschichtsträchtig, wandelbar, bunt und manchmal auch widersprüchlich ist wie die deutsche Hauptstadt. 2007 gab die Berliner Staatskanzlei eine groß angelegte Image-Kampagne in Auftrag. Unter dem Motto „be Berlin“ wurden die Bewohner der Hauptstadt mit ihren Eigenheiten ins Rampenlicht gerückt. Wir haben uns gefragt: 
Wie könnte eine geeignete visuelle Sprache dazu aussehen?

Idee und Umsetzung

Wir entwickelten das Corporate Design für die Hauptstadt im Wandel. Die Schrift „BMF Change“ und der rote Dialograhmen mit den Pfeilen für die wechselseitige Sprechrichtung symbolisieren die offene, dialogbereite Stadt und ihre Einwohner. Das neue Erscheinungsbild kam in mehreren Phasen weltweit zum Einsatz: von der Bürgerbeteiligungsplattform über lokale Plakatkampagnen bis zu internationalen Events.

Als Key Visual dient ein Dialograhmen, der mit seinem nach innen wie außen gerichteten Pfeil für eine offene, dialogbereite Stadt und ihre Einwohner steht.

Projekterfolg

Unser Keyvisual und die neue Schrift prägen das Erscheinungsbild Berlins weit über die Kampagne hinaus – oft auch in Form viraler Aneignungen. Zugegeben, nicht immer sind diese Adaptionen CD-konform. Doch ihre Verbreitung beweist, dass das Corporate Design funktioniert. Mit einer Imagemessung zeigte TNS Infratest, dass die Wahrnehmung der Stadt seit 2007 deutlich verbessert wurde – sowohl als Wirtschaftsstandort als auch mit Blick auf die Lebensqualität vor Ort.

Fragen? Ich freu mich drauf!

Ansprechpartner für dieses Projekt ist Johannes Cordes in Berlin.

Email schreiben