de

#africaneuropeandesignsprint

5W What's Next

Design sprints and the exploration of real-life situations in one of Africa’s most exciting economic centers. Together with the Nairobi Design Institute (NDI) ,we set out on a journey, established key topics and worked together to develop prototypical product solutions, innovative services and complex business ideas.

#

#

#

#

#

#

#

Nairobi

Design and the “design sprint” format form the basis of our approach to working in this East African economic hotspot. We use these tools to get a better grasp of real needs, to align these needs with business goals and ultimately as a “workshop” for generating solutions to complex challenges. We look for answers to questions relating to the opportunities available to companies seeking to succeed in this young, emerging and uniquely dynamic market. We also make an effort to network closely with local businesses.

Africa needs African solutions

If there’s one thing we’ve come to understand as regular visitors to Kenya and as experts in the creative industries, it’s that Africa needs African solutions. This applies in particular to companies from abroad looking to achieve economic success in the region.

Design as a bridge between cultures

We are convinced that design can act as a bridge between cultures. Designers understand each other very quickly, no matter where they come from. When we exchange our unique perspectives on design, it leads to solutions that are enriched by our diverse approaches. And, last but not least, design is an unusual context that provides the opportunity to reassess and reflect upon our own positions. In other words, inspiration and insight can be found right there on the street.

Networking & trainee program

In the course of our on-site networking, a trainee program was established for interested individuals. Chira Kiarie is the first graduate and fellow of the NDI, and he was invited to get to know the German perspective on design potential in a 6-month exchange program. Today he works at the Kenyan startup Twiga Foods as a UX Researcher. The Twiga App connects farmers and sellers with markets.

“Today’s Strategy with Africa is the roadmap to move forward and bring our partnership to the next level. Africa is the European Union’s natural partner and neighbor. Together we can build a more prosperous, more peaceful and more sustainable future for all.”

Ursula von der Leyen, President of the European Commission (9 March 2020)

Without knowing it, our work formed a precursor to the Recommendations of the European Commission and the EAD, which contained practical suggestions on potential working relationships between the EU and Africa. These proposals build on a growing dynamism in the relationship between the EU and Africa. According to the Commission, the deepening of EU-African cooperation on the basis of joint interests and values will create the foundation for both sides to face global challenges and achieve common goals.


After gaining initial on-site experience, our next step is to join with the International Design Center Berlin (IDZ) and work with companies to create specific themes and devise prototypical solutions, regardless of whether the focus is on a new product, an innovative service or a complex business idea.

If you and/or your company are interested in taking advantage of the dynamic process described here, please contact whatsnext@fuenfwerken.com

I am looking forward to your questions.

Please contact Rolf Mehnert in Wiesbaden with regard to this project.

Write an email

en

#africaneuropeandesignsprint

5W What's Next

Designsprint und Exploration realer Situationen mitten in einer der spannendsten Wirtschaftszentren Afrikas. Gemeinsam mit dem NDI Nairobi Design Institute haben wir uns auf die Reise gemacht, Themenstellung erarbeitet und gemeinsam prototypische Lösungen für Produkte, innovative Services oder komplexe Businessideen entwickelt.

#

#

#

#

#

#

#

Nairobi

Im Kontext der ostafrikanischen Wirtschaftsmetropole nutzen wir Design und das Format des Designsprints als Denkmodell und Haltung. Als Weg, reale Bedürfnisse zu verstehen und mit Businesszielen in Einklang zu bringen. Und schließlich als „Werkstatt“, um Lösungen für komplexe Herausforderungen zu entwickeln. Wir suchen Antworten auf die Frage, welche Möglichkeiten sich Unternehmen bieten, in diesem jungen, aufstrebenden Markt mit seiner ganz eigenen Dynamik erfolgreich zu sein. Darüberhinaus suchen wir eine enge Vernetzung mit der Wirtschaft vor Ort.

Afrika braucht afrikanische Lösungen

Als regelmäßige Besucher Kenias und auch als Fachleute der Kreativwirtschaft, haben wir eines verstanden: Afrika braucht afrikanische Lösungen. Das gilt insbesondere für den wirtschaftlichen Erfolg von Unternehmen aus dem Ausland.

Design als Brücke zwischen den Kulturen

Gleichzeitig sind wir der Meinung, dass Design als Brücke zwischen den Kulturen fungieren kann. Designer verstehen einander schnell, egal woher sie kommen. Der Austausch unserer unterschiedlichen Designperspektiven kann zu Lösungen führen, die durch unsere unterschiedlichen Sichtweisen bereichert werden. Nicht zuletzt bietet der ungewohnte Kontext die Möglichkeit, die eigenen Positionen zu reflektieren und neu zu bewerten. Inspiration und Erkenntnis liegen sozusagen auf der Straße.

Vernetzungs-/Trainee-Programm

Im Zuge der Vernetzung vor Ort ist ein Traineeprogramm entstanden. Chira Kiarie ist der erste Absolvent und Fellow des NDI, der in einem Austauschprogramm für 6 Monate einen Einblick in die deutsche Perspektive auf das Potential von Design kennen lernen konnte. Heute arbeitet er bei dem kenianischen Start-up Twiga Foods als UX Researcher. Die Twiga App verbindet Farmer und Verkäufer mit Märkten.

„Today’s Strategy with Africa is the roadmap to move forward and bring our partnership to the next level. Africa is the European Union’s natural partner and neighbour. Together we can build a more prosperous, more peaceful and more sustainable future for all.“

Ursula von der Leyen, President of the European Commission (9 March 2020)

Ohne es zu wissen sind wir den Empfehlungen der Europäischen Kommission und des EAD vorausgeeilt, welche praktische Möglichkeiten der Zusammenarbeit in den Beziehungen zwischen der EU und Afrika vorschlagen. Diese Vorschläge bauen auf einer wachsenden Dynamik in den Beziehungen zwischen der EU und Afrika auf. Laut der Kommission bildet die Vertiefung der Zusammenarbeit, auf der Grundlage gemeinsamer Interessen und Werte die Basis für beide Seiten, ihre gemeinsamen Ziele zu erreichen und globale Herausforderungen zu bewältigen.


Nach unseren ersten Erfahrungen vor Ort bieten wir in einem nächsten Schritt in Kooperation mit dem IDZ – dem Internationalen Designzentrum Berlin Unternehmen an, konkrete Themenstellung zu erschließen und gemeinsam prototypische Lösungen zu erarbeiten – egal ob sich um ein neues Produkt, ein innovativen Service oder eine komplexe Businessidee handelt.

Unternehmen, die Interesse haben, die hier beschriebene Dynamik zu nutzen wenden sich bitte an whatsnext@fuenfwerken.com

Fragen? Ich freu mich drauf!

Ansprechpartner für dieses Projekt ist Rolf Mehnert in Wiesbaden.

Email schreiben